Cordee outdoor books maps guides mountains
Cordee outdoor books maps guides mountains
Go to Basket/Checkout | Sign In | +44 (0)1455 611185
Visit the Cordee Facebook wall View our Tweets!

Walking & Hiking » Guides » Uk Lake District
Walking & Hiking » Books» Wainwright

The Central Fells - Book Three - Wainwright

Walkers Edition, revised by Clive Hutchby


One name above all others has become associated with walking in the Lake District: Alfred Wainwright, whose seven-volume Pictorial Guide to the Lakeland Fells, first published in 1955-66, has become the definitive guidebook.

Wainwright's meticulously hand-drawn maps, diagrams and drawings take walkers up the 214 principal hills and mountains of the Lake District, describing the main routes of ascent from different starting points, as well as lesser-known variants, showing the summit viewpoint panoramas and the ridge routes that can be made to create longer walks. Every page combines words and illustrations to present the routes in a way that is original, visually appealing and easy to follow.

This new edition of Wainwright's Walking Guide to the Lake District Fells has been comprehensively revised. Paths, maps, diagrams and route descriptions have been checked and corrected throughout. These revisions have been undertaken by writer and designer Clive Hutchby, author of The Wainwright Companion.

The Central Fells, Book Three of Wainwright's Walking Guide, covers the popular fells accessible from Great Langdale, Ambleside, Grasmere, Keswick and Borrowdale, including Harrison Stickle, Pike o'Stickle, Pavey Ark, Silver How Loughrigg Fell, Helm Crag and Walla Crag.

In Stock
Usually dispatched within 24 hrs. Free delivery to UK for orders £25 and over.


Cordee Code: FL0008
Author: A Wainwright & Clive Hutchby
No of Pages: 256
Page Size: 110 x 178 mm
ISBN 10: 0711236569
ISBN 13: 9780711236561
Publisher: Frances Lincoln
Published Date: March 2016
Edition: March 2016
Binding: Paperback (encapsulated)
Illustrations: Wainwright's b&w drawings and maps
Weight: 230g

Other titles of interest:

The Far Eastern Fells - Book Two - Wainwright

Walkers edition, revised by Clive Hutchby


In Stock

Eastern Fells - Book One - Wainwright

Walkers edition, revised by Clive Hutchby


In Stock

Northern Fells - Book Five - Wainwright

Walkers Edition


New stock expected 08/02/2021

North Western Fells - Book Six - Wainwright

Walkers Edition


New stock expected 02/03/2021

Western Fells - Book Seven - Wainwright

Walkers Edition


In Stock

  Click to Close [X]  

Cordee Ltd • 11 Jacknell Road • Dodwells Bridge Industrial Estate • Hinckley • LE10 3BS • UK
Tel: +44 (0) 1455 611185 • Fax: +44 (0) 1455 635687

© 2017 Cordee Ltd. All rights reserved.