Cordee outdoor books maps guides mountains
Cordee outdoor books maps guides mountains
Go to Basket/Checkout | Sign In | +44 (0)1455 611185
Visit the Cordee Facebook wall View our Tweets!

 
Travel » Asia

Land of the High Flags

Afghanistan When the Going Was Good


£12.95 
 

When the going was good, a young American woman travelled to the then-remote country of Afghanistan. A classic memoir in the tradition of Rebecca West, Rosanne Klass's Land of the High Flags is an insightful account of the land and its proud people. She was the first woman to teach boys from the country's villages at a time when Afghan women were still kept hidden behind veils. Ms Klass writes of Afghan traditions, of stark, splendid landscapes, and of the enduring friendships she made at a time when Afghanistan was reaching out to a hopeful future.

Hailed by critics when it first appeared, tgus reissue of a classic includes additional new sections telling of her return to Afghanistan as a journalist - and of what became of the friends she brought to life for her readers. This is a vivid portrait of Afghanistan as it was before Afghan life was blasted into ruins like the great Buddhas of Bamian by the wars and the Taliban.

Author
Rosanne Klass spent several years teaching in Afghanistan during

In Stock
Usually dispatched within 24 hrs. Free delivery to UK for orders £25 and over.

£12.95
 

Cordee Code: CTA712
Author: ROSANNE KLASS
No of Pages: 344
Page Size: 150 x 210 mm
ISBN 10: 9622177867
ISBN 13: 9789622177864
Publisher: Airphoto Int (Odyssey Guides)
Published Date: July 2007
Binding: Paperback (flapped)
Illustrations: colour photos
Weight: 630g

Other titles of interest:


Kyrgyz Republic 3rd Edition

£14.95 
 CTA474

In Stock


Russia and Asia

Nomadic and Oriental Traditions in Russian History

£17.95 
 CTA713

In Stock

   
  Click to Close [X]  

Cordee Ltd • 11 Jacknell Road • Dodwells Bridge Industrial Estate • Hinckley • LE10 3BS • UK
Tel: +44 (0) 1455 611185 • Fax: +44 (0) 1455 635687

© 2017 Cordee Ltd. All rights reserved.